Supervisors and Staff

Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) are political subdivisions of the State. Supervisors serve four year staggered terms; generally, two or three of an SWCD’s five supervisors are up for election every two years. As local elected officials, the SWCD Board of Supervisors appear on the November ballot as a nonpartisan office.

SWCD boards set overall policy and long-term objectives for their district and work with the SWCD staff to see that policies and plans are implemented. Douglas County is divided into five “supervisor nomination districts” to ensure the land and water issues across the geographic distribution are conveyed.

The Douglas SWCD Board of Supervisors

    • Rod Froemming
      Townships: Leaf Valley, Ida, La Grande, Lake Mary
    • Paul Barsness, Chairman
      Townships: Lund, Evansville, Urness, Solem
    • Bill Dropik, Secretary
      Townships: Miltona, Carlos, Alexandria, Hudson
    • Mike Cleary, Treasurer
      Townships: Millerville, Brandon, Moe, and Holmes City
  • Ken Rutten, Employee Relations & Vice-Chairman
    Townships: Spruce Hill, Belle River, Osakis, Orange

Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) Staff:

    • Ian Olson, Chippewa River Watershed Conservation Planner  

Natural Resources Conservation Service(NRCS) Staff